Crushing Victory: Vidarbha Sets Mumbai Showdown in Ranji Semifinal

Posted by
Ranji Triumph: Vidarbha Advances with Convincing Win Over MP

In an impressive display of cricket prowess, Vidarbha emerged triumphant with a 62-run victory over Madhya Pradesh in the Ranji Trophy semifinal held at the Vidarbha Cricket Association ground in Nagpur on March 6.

Dominance in the Morning Session

The match’s outcome was apparent as Madhya Pradesh, requiring an additional 93 runs to win with four wickets remaining, faced a daunting challenge. Vidarbha efficiently sealed the game’s fate within the morning session itself, setting the stage for a final clash with Mumbai.

Bowling Brilliance

Aditya Thakare and Yash Thakur played pivotal roles, each claiming two wickets, and dismantling the Madhya Pradesh innings. Despite a strong start, Yash Dubey‘s notable 94-and-a-century partnership with Harsh Gawli (67) could not be sustained, leading to Madhya Pradesh losing their momentum. Attempts by Venkatesh Iyer and Saransh Jain to stabilize proved futile against Vidarbha’s formidable bowling attack. All bowlers, except Umesh Yadav, made significant contributions by taking crucial wickets.

Missed Opportunities for Madhya Pradesh

Madhya Pradesh lamented a missed opportunity as they let slip an 82-run first innings lead, built on Himanshu Mantri‘s resilient century (126 off 265 balls). Despite Avesh Khan‘s impressive bowling (4/49) in the first innings, Madhya Pradesh failed to capitalize on the advantage.

Vidarbha’s Composed Batting

Facing a challenging target, Vidarbha did not succumb to pressure during their second innings. Yash Rathod‘s exceptional innings (141 off 200) and a vital 158-run partnership with Akshay Wadkar (77 off 139) propelled the hosts to competitive levels.

Decisive Second Innings

Attempting a 300-plus run chase on the final two days, Madhya Pradesh struggled on a wearing surface in India. Vidarbha‘s probing attack strategically dismantled the middle order, demonstrating their cricketing finesse.

Match Summary

Vidarbha‘s total scores of 170 & 402 outperformed Madhya Pradesh‘s 252 & 258. Noteworthy performances by Yash Rathod, Anubhav Agarwal (5-92), and the combined efforts of the Vidarbha bowling attack secured a 62-run victory, earning them a spot in the Ranji Trophy final against Mumbai.

For Scorecard Click Here: Cricbuzz

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *