India vs afg

Thrilling T20: Rohit vs Afghanistan’s Best!

Posted by

1. Kohli‘s Absence and Rohit‘s leads Team India

India’s Virat Kohli will miss the opening T20I against Afghanistan due to personal reasons, delaying the anticipated comeback narrative. However, Rohit Sharma, back in action after a stellar World Cup, will lead the team India, emphasizing their continued focus on him and Kohli for the upcoming T20 World Cup.


2. Selectors’ Dilemma and Players’ Opportunities

Sanju Samson’s return, fueled by a recent ODI ton, adds depth to India’s batting. The XI chosen for the series holds a key insight into the selectors’ and team management’s mindset for the 2024 T20 World Cup. The pace-bowling department, missing key names, presents an opportunity for fringe players to stake their claim for a World Cup spot.

3. Afghanistan’s Setback and Player Returns

Afghanistan faces a setback with Rashid Khan ruled out, affecting the team balance. However, the return of Mujeeb ur Rahman and Naveen-ul-Haq provides a boost, as their IPL experience becomes crucial. Afghanistan’s spinners, including Mujeeb, Nabi, Noor, and Qais, aim to fill the void left by Rashid’s absence.

4. Probable XIs and Team Strategies

Rohit Sharma is set to open with Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Shubman Gill takes Kohli’s No.3 spot. Samson, in good form, might handle the gloves. Afghanistan’s probable XI relies on Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, and the experienced Mujeeb. Flexibility in team strategy remains, with a focus on adaptability for the best team performance.

Match Details :

  • Date & Time: Thursday, January 11 at 7 PM IST
  • Venue: Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali
  • Expectations: Dew in the evening; Mohali is known for batting-friendly conditions with spacious boundaries.

Team News:

India XI:
Rohit Sharma (C), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Yadav/Ravi Bishnoi, Mukesh Kumar

Afghanistan XI:
Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ibrahim Zadran (C), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb-ur-Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Qais Ahmad, Noor Ahmad/Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi


  • Rahul Dravid: “Flexibility is key, and we’re really happy with what Jaiswal has done as an opener.”
  • Ibrahim Zadran: “Without Rashid, we trust our quality spinners like Mujeeb, Nabi, Noor, and Qais.”


Afghanistan Squad: Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmanullah Gurbaz(w), Ibrahim Zadran(c), Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Qais Ahmad, Naveen-ul-Haq, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Noor Ahmad, Mohammad Saleem Safi, Karim Janat, Ikram Alikhil, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Rahmat Shah, Gulbadin Naib

India Squad: Rohit Sharma(c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson(w), Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan, Kuldeep Yadav, Mukesh Kumar, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Ravi Bishnoi

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *